Latest news on Facebook and Twitter

White Stick XVII - 2006 - Venue North County - LCU&SA won by 8 wickets (Series 9-8)

Posted in The White Stick Trophy

Leinster were the host side for the 2006 White Stick and the venue was North County Cricket Club. The sides were poised at 8-8 going into this rubber and so bragging rights were at stake. The weather did not cause the damage it might have and the game was satisfactorily completed.


On his home ground Tommy Mooney featured in the Leinster line up apparently in place of Paddy Byrne and, despite David Nugent's heroic 0 not out in 2005, Kevin Gallagher of Phoenix made his debut in this fixture. Leinster were in the field first and the bowlers called on were Joey Mooney, Tommy Mooney, Willie Dwyer, Sean McCann, Urvin Desai and Bala Kailash.


The total conceded of 151 averaged just over 5 runs an over but it could have been a lot less had the home side managed to dismiss the adhesive Adams earlier than they did. He eventually went for 58 off 75 balls and his lightning, leg-side stumping by Mick Dwyer off the bowling of Bala Kailash was the Champagne Moment.


Sean McCann returned economical figures of 2 for 11 and was on a hat trick when he bowled Keith Smith first ball, but the batsman safely negotiated that particular delivery. The leading wicket-taker was Willie Dwyer on 3 for 34, Bala Kailash took 2 for 25 and the Mooneys took one each. Other contributors to the visitor's innings included skipper Alan Neill 23, Reggie McNally 17, James F McCall 12 and Andrew Frater 11. The last-wicket pair of Ashok Sharma and Alan Waugh managed to bat out the 30th over.


Needing 152 to win Leinster opened with captain John Andrews and Clive Colleran. The skipper launched an immediate assault on the NIACUS bowlers while Clive was content to play himself in. The bowling was rotated to little effect as the skipper raced to 54 from 31 balls including seven fours and three sixes. With 10 overs gone Leinster were already at 90 and it seemed only a matter of time before they retained the trophy.


After his fine innings in 2005 Urvin Desai was favourite to bring the game to a conclusion. However, he was rather cruelly undone when he was lbw on the 7th ball of an over. It was left to Willie Dwyer to join Clive Colleran at the crease and he actually outscored the opener in their unbroken third-wicket partnership.


Clive Colleran carried his bat for 43. The winning runs came in the 21st over and there was time for a group and a team photograph before the rain came. After all present had a fine meal and LCU&SA President, Martin Russell was modest in victory while the NIACUS people vowed revenge in 2007, although there may be some changes in their personnel before next year's match.



Match played at North County CC, Inch, Balrothery
Result: LCU&SA won by 8 wickets
Series: LCU&SA 9 wins; NIACUS 8 wins.
JF McCall c McCann b T Mooney 12
A Adams st M Dwyer b Kailash 58
A Neill* lbw b W Dwyer 23
J McCormick c Andrews b W Dwyer 3
A Frater st M Dwyer b W Dwyer 11
N McCarey c W Dwyer b Kailash 4
R McNally† b J Mooney 17
C Vennard c T Mooney b McCann 1
K Smith b McCann 0
A Sharma not out 1
A Waugh not out 4
Extras (Byes 1 Wides 16) 17
Total (9 wickets, 30 overs) 151
J Mooney 5 0 42 1
T Mooney 5 0 25 1
W Dwyer 5 0 34 3
S McCann 5 0 11 2
U Desai 5 0 13 0
B Kailash 5 0 25 2
J Andrews* st McNally b Frater 54
C Colleran not out 43
U Desai lbw b Waugh 7
W Dwyer not out 36
J Mooney   DNB
T Mooney   DNB
N Parnell   DNB
K Gallagher   DNB
M Dwyer†   DNB
B Kailash   DNB
S McCann   DNB
Extras b2 lb2 nb1 w7 12
Total (2 wkts, 20.4 overs) 152
N McCarey 2 0 22 0
K Smith 5.4 1 33 0
C Vennard 4 0 33 0
A Frater 5 0 27 1
A Waugh 3 0 29 1
A Sharma 1 0 4 0
Man of the Match: John Andrews
Champagne Moment: Mick Dwyer
Umpires: Graham Mooney, Joe Moore
Scorers: Conor Dillon, Helen McConaghy