Latest news

Paddy O'Hara's Teasers - Part 3

on . Posted in Education

Here is the third block of questions and answer that Paddy O'Hara has kindly let us reproduce on the site and on our Facebook pages.

The questions act as a fantastic form of revision over the winter months. The questions have been discussed on our Facebook page over the last few weeks.



11.   You are the umpire at bowler’s end.  On the 4th ball of an over, the striker glances a fair delivery towards fine leg.  The bowler deliberately obstructs him, as he is setting off for a 2nd run.

The bowler then properly puts down the wicket at the bowler’s end with the striker out of his ground, and appeals for the Run out.

(i)      How do you answer the appeal

(ii)How many runs have been scored?

(iii)       Who faces the next delivery?

(iv)       How many balls are left in the over?






12.  You are the umpire at bowler’s end.  The score is 98 for 2.    You call & signal No ball.  The striker swings at, but misses the ball, which deflects off his pad, and the batsmen run.

You notice that the non-striker just fails to make good his ground as he turns at the end of the 2nd run.   You then give the striker out Run out as he fails to complete the 3rd. run.

(i)                 What is the score now?

(ii)               What signals to you make to the scorers?












13. A No ball knocks the middle stump

back without removing it from the ground.   The batsmen run. 

(i)             Apart from re-making the wicket, what may the fielding side do, in order to put down the wicket in an attempt to secure a Run out?

(ii)               How would things differ if you were playing without bails?
















   14.  The striker hits the 2nd ball of an over – a No ball – towards the extra cover boundary.   The batsmen have crossed on their 3rd. run when the fielder’s throw misses the bowler’s end wicket and runs into the outfield.   The batsmen have completed a 4th run before the ball reaches and crosses the leg side boundary.

(i)       How many runs have been scored?

(ii)     And, how are they recorded?

(iii)   What further actions does the bower’s end umpire require?












  15.  A delivery hits the striker’s front pad, which is just outside the line of the off stump.   You are quite certain that the ball WOULD have gone on to hit the wicket.        Give all the reasons why, nevertheless, you would give the striker Not out?





Set  3  Answers.


We are now getting into on field match situations .      You must be able to react to any situation with calmness, knowledge  and authority.

In this first scenario there is a lot to think about, and a lot to do.


  1.  Firstly  42.5 tells you, you must Call & signal Dead ball to bring play to an immediate halt – for the deliberate  obstruction.

         (i) ‘Not out’.    The umpires are required to answer any appeal (27.5).

         (ii)   7 runs.   5 Pen. runs  + 1 completed run + 1 run started but not crossed

for.  (see 42.5 d  and f).

                Signals to scorers.   You do not need to repeat the Dead ball signal.

               Signal 5 Penalty runs to the batting side.  (“Patting for batting”)

              Make sure the scorers know the striker gets 2 runs.

(iii)             The batsmen at the wicket decide this.   (42.5. g)

(iv)             3 balls left.    This ball  does not count as one of the over.  (42.5. e)


    12.(i)   100 for 3.   2. No ball extras have been scored.  1 for bowling the No ball    

        and 1 for the only legitimate run taken  - the 2nd. was short and the

         Run out occurred on the 3rd.

(ii)   Short run.     No ball / Bye.(to indicate No ball extras).  Ensure that the  

        scorers acknowledge each signal separately.


   13.  (i)   A fielder must strike or pull a stump  out of the ground, with his hand

               or arm  providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used.(28)

  (ii)   If the umpires have agreed to play without bails (8.5)  (for whatever

         reason), then the umpire concerned must be satisfied that the ball has

       made contact with  any of the stumps.


14.      (i)  8 runs.  1 No ball + 3 runs completed or crossed for at the instant of the

             throw.  + 4 Boundary overthrows.  (19.7)

(ii)               I No ball extra.   7 runs to the striker.

(iii)             Signal to the scorers – No ball, Boundary 4 (followed by clarification that striker has scored 7 – easy if you have a radio, but if not, you could hold up fingers and call out.)

Importantly ensure the correct batsman faces the next delivery.

As the striker scored 7 runs  – an odd number – his partner will be on strike for the next delivery.

Finally, remember to allow an extra delivery in the over.


15.      1.    The delivery was a No ball .

2.      The ball had previously hit the bat (or hand holding the bat).

3.      The striker made a genuine attempt to play the ball with his bat.

4.      There was no appeal !!       (36)



Dates for your diary - Spring 2016

on . Posted in 2016 News

There's plenty to keep you busy over the next few months, as we continue our preparation for the 2016 season.

Education and training is vital for all our members, whether umpires or scorers, young or old, new to umpiring or a grizzled veteran.

Please try and get to as many of these training events as possible, if not all!

There are also some more important dates for your diary, with our AGM, Dinner and the IACUS conference (another important date for all umpires)

26/1 – Phoenix CC, 1945 start
22/3 – Phoenix CC, 1945 start
5/4 – Phoenix CC, 1945 start (Pre Season Meeting)
Other Dates:
20/2 – IACUS Conference, Monaghan. Please let Kevin Gallagher know if you are attending this event!
25/2 – LCU&SA AGM, Phoenix CC, 1945 start
1/4 – LCU&SA Dinner, Leinster CC. Booking Form will be issued in due course.

Paddy O'Hara's Teasers - Part 2

on . Posted in Education

Here is the second block of questions and answer that Paddy O'Hara has kindly let us reproduce on the site and on our Facebook pages.

The questions act as a fantastic form of revision over the winter months. The questions have been discussed on our Facebook page over the last few weeks.



6.    The fielding side is deliberately wasting time during an over.  They have already been warned.   When the ball is Dead, the umpire instructs the fielding captain to take the bowler off and he awards 5 Penalty runs to the batting side.


7.    In a 1-innings-match, Side A has scored 180 all out.   Side B is 179 for 8 when the striker hits a fair ball and is Run out attempting a 2nd run, from the final ball of the match, so it ends in a Tie.



8.    The striker cannot be out LBW if the ball pitches outside the line of the stumps.




9.   The striker stops a fair delivery with his bat and then without the permission from any member of the fielding side, picks up the ball and throws it to a near by fielder.  On appeal, he is out Handled the ball.



10.    From a fair delivery, a shot deflects off the helmet being worn by the short leg fielder.  The ball balloons into the air and is caught by the fielder at mid on.  This is not a fair catch and the umpire will call & signal Dead ball.





How did you get on? Answers here



Set 2 Answers.

6.      Firstly, this would be a very rare occurrence and something you could probably have prevented by employing good man-management skills earlier in the innings.

However, it has been included to remind you that sometimes unusual incidents can happen and you must have the depth of knowledge to know what to do, when you are suddenly faced with them on the field.


This situation is covered in Law 42.9.

A warning having been previously given, the bowler`s end umpire has no option but to apply the proper penalty.   You DO NOT ‘wait until the ball is Dead’ although it most probably will be – for example the bowler and captain standing a the end of the bowler`s run up spending a very long time discussing field changes during  the over.  

Call & signal Dead ball (if necessary) and inform your colleague  (Umpires always act together in matters of  Unfair play).

Yes, you instruct the fielding captain to suspend the bowler forthwith (even though it is probably not his fault ! ), but you DO NOT award the Penalty runs.  If the incident had occurred between overs, the Penalty runs are awarded, but there is no sanction against a bowler.


  1. This was a Draw not a Tie.  (Remember these questions are on Laws of

Cricket)     See Law 21.5 a)  and  b)


  1. The striker cannot be out LBW if the ball pitches outside the line of his

leg stump, but can be  - in certain circumstances – if  it pitches outside the line of  his off stump.   Law 36.


  1. He is not out ‘Handled the ball’, he is out ‘Obstructing the field’.

Something you should confirm with the scorers at a suitable opportunity. Law 37.4


  1. The umpire does NOT call & signal Dead ball.  The ball remains in play and another form of dismissal  could occur and runs could be scored.

(see Laws 32.3 d). and 23.4.). 


RIP Stu Daultrey

on . Posted in 2016 News

I am very sorry to bring you the news of the death of Stu Daultrey. Stu was a long standing member of the LCU&SA, a former committee member and a former International Umpire. He was well known for a prodigious quantity of matches on the field and later a distinguished role as a match reporter from the sideline.
Funeral details are not available at this stage. I will circulate these once they become known.