Paddy O'Hara's Teasers - Part 2

on .

Here is the second block of questions and answer that Paddy O'Hara has kindly let us reproduce on the site and on our Facebook pages.

The questions act as a fantastic form of revision over the winter months. The questions have been discussed on our Facebook page over the last few weeks.

 

 

6.    The fielding side is deliberately wasting time during an over.  They have already been warned.   When the ball is Dead, the umpire instructs the fielding captain to take the bowler off and he awards 5 Penalty runs to the batting side.

 

7.    In a 1-innings-match, Side A has scored 180 all out.   Side B is 179 for 8 when the striker hits a fair ball and is Run out attempting a 2nd run, from the final ball of the match, so it ends in a Tie.

 

 

8.    The striker cannot be out LBW if the ball pitches outside the line of the stumps.

 

 

 

9.   The striker stops a fair delivery with his bat and then without the permission from any member of the fielding side, picks up the ball and throws it to a near by fielder.  On appeal, he is out Handled the ball.

 

 

10.    From a fair delivery, a shot deflects off the helmet being worn by the short leg fielder.  The ball balloons into the air and is caught by the fielder at mid on.  This is not a fair catch and the umpire will call & signal Dead ball.

 

 

 

 

How did you get on? Answers here

 

 

Set 2 Answers.

6.      Firstly, this would be a very rare occurrence and something you could probably have prevented by employing good man-management skills earlier in the innings.

However, it has been included to remind you that sometimes unusual incidents can happen and you must have the depth of knowledge to know what to do, when you are suddenly faced with them on the field.

 

This situation is covered in Law 42.9.

A warning having been previously given, the bowler`s end umpire has no option but to apply the proper penalty.   You DO NOT ‘wait until the ball is Dead’ although it most probably will be – for example the bowler and captain standing a the end of the bowler`s run up spending a very long time discussing field changes during  the over.  

Call & signal Dead ball (if necessary) and inform your colleague  (Umpires always act together in matters of  Unfair play).

Yes, you instruct the fielding captain to suspend the bowler forthwith (even though it is probably not his fault ! ), but you DO NOT award the Penalty runs.  If the incident had occurred between overs, the Penalty runs are awarded, but there is no sanction against a bowler.

 

  1. This was a Draw not a Tie.  (Remember these questions are on Laws of

Cricket)     See Law 21.5 a)  and  b)

 

  1. The striker cannot be out LBW if the ball pitches outside the line of his

leg stump, but can be  - in certain circumstances – if  it pitches outside the line of  his off stump.   Law 36.

 

  1. He is not out ‘Handled the ball’, he is out ‘Obstructing the field’.

Something you should confirm with the scorers at a suitable opportunity. Law 37.4

 

  1. The umpire does NOT call & signal Dead ball.  The ball remains in play and another form of dismissal  could occur and runs could be scored.

(see Laws 32.3 d). and 23.4.).